top of page

(MAGYAR)

(ENGLISH)

categories:
tags:
No tags yet.

monthly news

You are now signed up to our weekly style tips! Xx

 Recent posts: 

My Wedding Styling

This Month is our first wedding anniversary, so I really didn't want to postpone writing this blogpost anymore... So many of you were asking about our wedding, and I am super excited to finally share with you all the details of how I planned our Big Day. It was a fantastic period, I loved getting ready for this special occasion - and I would definitely do it all over again!!! Maybe for our 10th anniversary? Let's see...

I had to manage most of the planning remotely, as we live in London, and the wedding took place in Budapest Hungary. I could not afford to fly home too often as I was still working full-time in retail back then, so my holidays were limited, and I wanted to save more days for after the wedding and honeymoon... so I had to work with that small amount of time I could get off from work, and arrange the meetings, dress fittings as efficiently as possible.

I organised my thoughts and tips into 6 main areas in regards to styling our wedding, I hope you will enjoy this post!

Xx

1. Dress

Made by my Mom, the most beautiful and personalised dress, even better than I imagined it would be. I knew that it will be difficult for me to find a perfect dress, as I always have very specific ideas about what I want, and it wasn't any different when it came to my wedding dress. I went to a salon here in London just to try on a few designs, and to have an idea of the shape, style and fabric, but it soon became clear that Mom will be the one creating my dress from scratch. I can honestly say my dress is priceless, I don't think I could ever pay for all those long hours, energy, love and patience that Mom sew into my dream gown. We found the perfect embroidered fabric, and tulle in the heart of Budapest in a tiny fabric shop, I only had like 2 fittings: the first one a few weeks before the wedding during summer, when Mom started to work on it and the last fitting took place just a couple of days before the ceremony. 

My cathedral veil was hand sewn by grandma, so my whole outfit was literally handmade. Grandma would sit for hours attaching the embroidered patches to the tulle. 

2. Bridesmaids

I really wanted my best friends to feel comfortable, but obviously look stunning at the same time. No awkward or old-style flower dresses please! Honestly some bridesmaid gowns can look so funny, when you try to fit everyone in the same design and colour, and poor girls end up looking like flight attendants in work uniforms... So I definitely wanted something that will create harmony, but allows everyone to express their own style. The infinity dresses are the best solution I think, as everyone could choose their own colours (even though almost all of my girls chose the blush pink shade), and they could customise the neckline, tied it in many different ways. I've found them on Instagram and have never been to the salon in Budapest, but from the feedback of my bridesmaids, they were helpful, and flexible about the fitting as well. They even made a bespoke dress for my god-daughter, which was my cousin's idea, and I loved how cute she looked: the mini bridesmaid.

And for our lovely ring career boys / god-sons, I sorted the outfits mainly online, and I loved how cute they looked wearing the same outfits.

3. Theme

The travel theme was given, as we have a quite international history... I am from Hungary, Ronaldo from Brasil, we met in the USA, and now living in London, UK... So travelling has always been and always will be a part of our life.

We had a world map on our main cake, tiny luggages filled with M&M's as the wedding favours, Wedding passports invitations, a Big Ben & London eye shaped second cake > which by the way was so perfect, I could not believe - Dad's friend does these traditional cakes made of caramelised nuts and honey. Not just delicious, but they are usually artworks!

Then alongside the invitations, I also wanted to create a mood board and outfit suggestions for our guests in the form of a boarding pass (to match the travel theme). I wanted to set a colour scheme for our wedding which gives a little guidance to our guests, and makes it easier to choose outfits, but would also ensure that we are going to have perfect harmony on our pictures, and the wedding video. No extreme colours or prints... 

4. The venue

We have quickly decided that our wedding will be in Hungary. And since my grandma used to mention to me how much she would love to attend a wedding in the Basilica in Budapest one day, I have decided that my wedding ceremony will be there! Now we just had to choose a reception venue. First we were thinking of getting something close to the Basilica, but then we changed our mind, and started looking closer to the city where I am from. I had a random idea of checking out the Palma Rendezvenyhaz in Tata as I remembered how I used to pass by the building when I was a child and try to see whats inside the building. I found it always interesting and a great place for events. We had no appointment, yet their wedding planner was super welcoming helpful and friendly. We checked the venue, and the hotel as well - fell in love and knew that we have found the perfect place for our reception.

The Basilica was divine, such a magical place and just in the last minute God even sent us a Portuguese speaking Hungarian 'Father' who led the most perfect ceremony we could have ever wished for - it was such a blessing that Ronaldo's family could understand everything as well. 

5. Decor

So our chosen venues are both stunning just the way they are, we only wanted some minimal yet elegant decoration.

We didn't have to worry about anything for the church / Basilica obviously, we just requested the flowers to be white.

And the Reception venue - since it is a very tall building, I had the idea of giant balloons. We had minimal flower decoration, mainly greens, and bouquets on the tables. Instead of table numbers, we had cities, with a picture of us taken in that city. 

The menus were also designed by me, and printed in the same style as our invitations.

6. Memories

The most important part for us, and this was our first on our 'to-do' list. To find the perfect wedding photographer, and videographers. This is our Big Day, which we are preparing for so long, yet it will be gone so quickly, so we definitely wanted to make sure we have the right team capturing all those moments, and creating memories for us that will last forever.

We met with both David (our photographer) and our videogrpaher team the week before the weding, to do some creatives. It was great for us woth Ronaldo to spend some time together, and we really enjoyed getting to know the team.

Our wedding video:

Bridesmaid dresses: https://www.infinity.hu/

bottom of page